Motivation

mr-motivator
A missing Primarch?

How do you stay motivated? Personally a combination of progress and results seems to do the trick. Recently I had a real dip in motivation. To the extent that I considered giving up on the whole Sauroters project. I’m not sure why really and it seemed to come out of the blue. That got me thinking.

I tend to do batch painting. I find it quite satisfying as well as a more efficient use of time. I have noticed however, that there is a definite limit to how big batches can be. I have tried painting 10 man squads in batches. I find it takes most of a day to finish. Towards the end it starts to feel like a bit of a chore, rather than a hobby and I tend to make decisions or mistakes that end up reducing my satisfaction with the result.

I also find painting large areas of flat colour very tedious. Consequently, I tend to rush and apply the paint to thickly. Again, this effects the end result. A good example was the Proteus Pattern II missile launchers. They have a deceptively large surface area and I found painting five took a lot longer than I expected. I was really trying to just finish the last couple, add a wash and call it a day. When I came back the next day, to do the highlights, I found the finish was patchy and I had missed some spots altogether.

Although, to date I have completed over thirty Space Marines, only 10 of them are Sauroters. Plus, I am not intending to include that squad in my Demi Company, mainly because they are not quite up to the standard that I want. This means that I haven’t made much progress towards my goal. I think this was responsible for the dip in my motivation.

My current feeling is that the painting I have done up to now was really just learning how to model, paint, convert etc. I am now ready to complete the project to a standard I am happy with. So, I’m feeling motivated again. I think in my personal case there seems to be a sudden hump to get over in any of the projects I do. Once I push through it I’m fine again.

Due to the sudden fall of Sterling I have been able to order most of what I need in one go. From various ebay sellers I have ordered 2 Betrayal at Calth sprues, 1 Burning of Prospero Sprue and one box of five Assault Marines. That gives me enough models to create 1 10 man Devastator Squad, three Tactical Squads and one Assault Squad. I also have a Librarian, a Tech Marine and an Apothecary. I want to replace my Chaplain and add a Captain. That will give me one full Demi Company or a very cheesy min-max Full Battle Company. The transports will be a separate project.

The plan is to clip everything of the sprues and clean them up. Then assemble everything into sub assemblies and prime them all together. Then I’ll batch paint everything in groups of five until they’re all done. Rather than batch paint models I’ll batch  paint elements. I’ll do all the backpacks, then helmets, then weapons etc. That way I should be able to get a really consistent look and stay motivated. Personally doing a bunch of backpacks isn’t boring as long as I’m making progress and the finish is good. I’m really looking forward to it.

Leave a Reply

