Sauroter Chaplain

1-chaplain-front

2-chaplain-plasma

3-chaplain-crozius-arcanum

4-chaplain-back

5-chaplain-back-magnet

6-chaplain-front-jump-pack

7-chaplain-plasma-jump-pack

8-chaplain-crozius-arcanum-jump-pack

9-chaplain-back-jump-pack

 crozius-arcanum

Modelling

  • The body of the model is from the Deathwatch: Overkill boxset.
  • The helmet is from the Betrayal at Calth boxset.
  • The jump pack is from the Vanguards Veteran set.
  • The left shoulder pauldron was a custom order from a Shapeways seller.
  • The backpacks are magnetized using 1 x 3mm rare earth magnets.
  • The right arm is from the Betrayal at Calth boxset.
  • The plasma pistol is from the Tactical Squad boxset.

I found converting the backpacks relatively easy. I used two magnets for the backpack and three for the jump pack. I find the easiest method is to drill a hole and glue the first magnet. Usually this is the magnet in the body of the miniature. Next, I put the second magnet on the first and drill the hole in the secondary piece. Then, I apply glue to the second magnet using a cocktail stick. Finally I offer up the secondary piece to the second magnet. When the glue is dry I can pull the pieces and the magnets apart. This way the magnets will sit flush and I am less likely to get the polarity wrong.

Painting

The basic scheme is black. I went about it by applying very watered down coats of black over grey primer. Detail which then showed through was either left as it was or picked out in GW Eshin Grey. The armour was then tidied up with Vallejo Game Colour Black.

  • Armour ~ Vallejo Black (), highlighted with Eshin Grey
  • Left pauldron ~ Vallejo xxxx ()
  • Plasma Pistol~ Vallejo Black Metal (71.073), washed with GW Nuln Oil, highlighted with  Vallejo Gunmetal Grey (71.065)
  • Crozius Arcanum ~ Vallejo Brass (), highlighted with Vallejo Gold () and Vallejo Silver()
  • Leather~ undercoated with Vallejo Cammo Black Brown (), washed with GW Agrax Earthshade and Highlighted with Vallejo Flat Earth () mixed with white.
  • Book~  Vallejo Hull red (). Washed with GW Carrobourg Crimson and highlighted with Vallejo xxxx ()
  • Eyes ~  Vallejo xxxx  () sheded with GW Agrax Earthshade.

 

Overall I’m pleased with the result. I particularly like the way the handle of the Crozius Arcanum came out. It looks like soft leather. I regret not spending a bit more time and care on highlighting the wings of the Crozius Arcanum though. I feel I could have done a better job. I’m also not satisfied with the eyes. I have since developed a method I’m happy with, when I was painting this model I couldn’t do anything I was satisfied with so I just did almost solid red.

I have decided to make it a rule not to go back and add anything once a model is varnished. I’d prefer to just try to improve on the next model. In this way I hope to see a solid progression in the quality I can achieve. It’s also motivating to try and get it right the first time. I rushed through the Crozius Arcanum because I was tired and wanted to get it finished. I would have been better off simply stopping and picking it up another day. It’s a hobby after all and should be relaxing not stressful.

You’ll notice that it is not based yet. I am not planning to base anything until the whole army is finished. I want to try an achieve a  consistent look and I really haven’t decided how they’ll be based yet.

Also, I haven’t painted the detail he is standing on. Partly this is because I haven’t decided on a basing scheme but mainly because I will probably cut this piece away. I want to have a base where he is running up stairs. This should give a more dynamic look. Especially with the jump pack attached. It will also break the monotony of all the HQ choices having one leg up on something.

1 thought on “Sauroter Chaplain”

Leave a Reply

