Betrayal at Calth

GW-BETRAYAL-AT-CALTH
Image from: Games Workshop

Shortly after I started this blog Games Workshop released the Betrayal at Calth boxset. It seems like a good deal but space is at a real premium for me. I also can’t see myself wanting to paint 30 pretty much identical spacemarines. Also, I much prefer the classic Dreadnought to the Contempter and I’ve never been a fan of Terminators, Cataphractii or otherwise.

I do really like the MKIV armour though. So, I bought a single tactical squad from an ebay seller. The sprue is really nice. I really like the bolter guns. The barrel lines up with whatever the part that ejects spent cartridges is called. That’s something that had bugged me since Veteran Sergeant pointed out why it doesn’t make sense on his blog.

I am going to paint this squad as a veteran squad. I am imagining that Sauroters veterans get access to earlier marks of armour as a badge of rank. This should also add a bit of variety to my collection and give me a bit of variety in my painting too.

I like that GW included enough combat blades for a WYSIWYG squad, but I don’t like the blades themselves. They are too big and can’t be mounted behind the shoulder as I intend. They also won’t fit well in addition to grenades, pistols and pouches. It’s telling that very, very few painted models, even from Games Workshop TV, include the combat blades. So, I’ll be using the 3D-printed Kopis I mentioned in an earlier post.

I like the MKIV backpacks better than the MKVII from the Tactical Squad boxset although I still much prefer the backpacks from Anvil Industries. So, I’ll use the resin backpacks for the tactical and special weapons marines. I’ll use the MKVII backpacks for the Sergeant and heavy weapon marine. I’ll be using MKIV backpacks on my HQ choices so that should provide some visual continuity.

Im comparison with the 40K tactical box set, I find the poses a bit static. However, I like how the arms attach to hands holding weapons. The extended wrist armour gives a nice surface for gluing and a much neater looking result. However, that also make it very difficult to change aiming poses. So, I think it’s back to (the cheaper) MKVII for subsequent squads.

Leave a Reply

